TBR & Wrap-Ups

April Reading Wrap-Up 2017

Another Month is gone. Whatever will we do. Besides have an amazing May?
Let’s start this wrap-up by reviewing what was on my TBR at the beginning of the month!
Link to April TBR 2017

  • The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas – Currently Reading.
    – This is a buddy read with ACourtofBooksandLove
  • The Distance Between Us by Kasie West – READ
  • By Your Side by Kasie West – READ
  • Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertallie
  • That Summer by Sarah Dessen – READ
  • 13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher
  • Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo – Currently Reading
  • Discovering Zhara novellas by Jessica Sorenson – READ

Other goals for April were:

  • Have a good 24th Birthday! – ACHIEVED! Thank you guys for all the Happy Birthday wishes!
  • Write another review on a different Kasie West book, and compare it to the other review of hers I did.
  • Step up on my Bookstagram. – ACHIEVED!
  • Do a series review for Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom.

The Books I Read:

So overall, I think I did okay. One of my next posts will be reviews on the different Kasie West’s books that I’ve read. I’ve got to go buy the rest of them, but I want to cross review that three that I have read.

I read six books, well 5 books and 6 novellas (which I’m counting as a whole book), even though I strayed a little bit away from my TBR.
I read a total of 2,060 pages. Which is an amazing number to see.
So let’s just jump into what I’ve read this month!


slammed cohoSlammed by Colleen Hoover – 2.5/5 Stars – Goodreads
– Everything in this was way over-dramatic. I’m a very character-driven reader, and if I don’t like the main character, there’s a huge chance that I won’t love the book. And that’s what happened in this case. Everything was rushed. Insta-love. The only redeeming thing was the slam poetry that’s all throughout the book. I don’t understand why the Will and Lake had to have such heartbreakingΒ  backgrounds. It was interesting but so upsetting. I did like it enough to try to read the next two books. I don’t think these characters need two more books though.


that summerThat Summer by Sarah Dessen – 1/5 Stars – Goodreads
– Uhm, I hated this. I didn’t understand the point of it at all. It was written in the late 90’s and you can tell. From the use of the word ‘retarded’ to describe something. (Which is a HUGE fucking no). To a lady unironically wearing a fanny pack. This book was all over the place. The only thing I got from it was that the MC -I can’t even remember her name- was obsessed with one her older sister’s ex-boyfriends. Like over the top obsessed. It was worse though cause she was 15 and he was 21. I guess the end goal/message is that change is okay and being upset about is alright too. I really missed the point of this book. I’m not giving up on Sarah Dessen yet though.


geekerella front coverGeekerella by Ashley Poston – 5/5 Stars – Goodreads
– This book was amazing. I loved both of the main characters and the side characters. I loved all of the nerdy references. It was just adorable. I really liked that the Darien was a nerd himself, while being the main actor. I loved that. I found myself smiling through almost all of it. I really liked the one step sister that redeemed herself and turned out to be amazing in her own way. That was definitely different than other Cinderella stories that I’ve read. There was even a lost slipper bit. It was just great, highly recommend.


by your sideBy Your Side by Kasie West – 5/5 Stars – Goodreads
– I really enjoyed this. Mainly because the main character has anxiety attacks and was on medicine for it. The background plot was her learning that sometimes she needs to say no to hanging out with her friends and that down days are needed and okay. I also loved Dax’s back story and how he helped her even with the consequences that happened.Β  I kind of hated the huge plot twist. Using car crashes as a plot device sort of thing always makes me upset. And who it happened to was very unnecessary in my opinion. But I just really loved Autumn and Dax and the story over all.


discovering zharaDiscovering Zhara novellas 1-6 by Jessica Sorenson – 3/5 Stars – Goodreads
– I was really into this story. I liked the undercover detective/drug ring concept. I was starting to really like Zhara and all of the Bad Boy Rebels. I just don’t understand why in 572 pages -yes I added it up- we get like half way into a story. I don’t love this Novella series concept. Cause certain novellas definitely weren’t necessary at all. I understand that this format will help intertwine the sisters’ stories. But now I have to wait to read just another 100 pages, and hope that the installment is necessary and adds to the story. I would recommend waiting until all installments are out to read this. But I have no idea when that will be.


the distance between usThe Distance Between Us by Kasie West – 3/5 Stars – Goodreads
– I loved Caymen so much. So was so sarcastic and sassy. This book is full of tropes. She’s poor, he’s rich. She is always thinking that he’s only with her to ‘fix her as a Cinderella story’. I liked it, but I didn’t love it. I couldn’t connect with Xander, I actually wanted her to end up with Mason way more. It’s was cute, but dull and flat in the end. Especially because the ending was really rushed and abrupt. I can’t wait to read more Kasie West Books though.


keep calm.pngWatch out for my next post, my May TBR!
And you better bet that ACOWAR is on it!


Hope You Enjoyed!
Thanks for Reading!
Instagram: jescamarie493
Goodreads:
jessicamarie493
Twitter : @jescamarie493 5jmarie

14 thoughts on “April Reading Wrap-Up 2017

  1. Glad you had a good 24th birthday! πŸ’• It was also my 24th birthday in April! 😊 Hope you’re enjoying THUG, I really need to get around to it too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

