Reviews

Mini-Review: The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West

–This was my first Kasie West read. I enjoyed it, but it wasn’t my favorite YA Contemporary I’ve read. After watching BooksandLala’s Guide to Kasie West Video, and reading some other reviews, this is not the most well-loved of Kasie West’s books.
–Even though I didn’t love this book, I am not giving up on Kasie West. I own The Distance Between Us and By Your Side, so I plan to read those as soon as possible.
–Anyways, let’s get onto the mini-review!


The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West – Goodreads – 3/5 Stars

fill in boyfriendMy Quick Summary – So Miss Gia is about to walk into prom with Bradley. Who is in college, while she’s still in high school. (been there, done that girlfriend, and it was not ideal at all)
He hasn’t meet her friends yet, so they don’t believe that he exists. Well, he dumps her in the parking lot and she asks another guy to be her Fill-In Bradley. Then high school drama and relationships happen.
-Link to Goodreads page above for full summary-

My Quick Review – The only character I liked in this book is Fill-In Bradley, and yes I will continue to call him that. His name reveal is a really fun part of the book, and I don’t want to spoil it. All of the characters are somewhat made to be unlikable, especially Gia’s friends. There’s this whole “Mean Girls” vibe where Gia is seen as the most popular girl in school, but doesn’t really know who she is below the surface. She hasn’t realized how horribly she’s treated people before, just to get likes on social media. There’s this whole scene where her brother points out that she does these things for likes and votes to be school president, and it kind of completely changes the course of the book.

mean girl.gifAfter thinking about it, it does follow a sort of  “Mean Girls” path. Besides the first 60 pages where you meet the fill-in. After that it’s about Gia trying to stay on top, then in the last 60 pages she completely changes when every one finds out he was a fake. But not before the, what Gia described as “nerdy” guy, and his sister that wears too much eyeliner butt in. Then she changes for the better and ditches the old friends, that made her say horrible things about the other kids at school. Do you see the similarities? No wonder I kept thinking I had read this story before.

fell flat.gifOverall, this book just fell flat. It was just okay. I felt like I had read it before. But that could also just be because most YA Contemporaries focus on the same sort of thing. After about the first 60 pages, not a lot happens until the last 60 pages. So the middle is drawn out in my opinion. Honestly, the main thing I liked about this book was Fill-In Bradley and his sister. They had the most depth of any of the characters. Gia’s growth was great, but I felt like I read it before, and I just didn’t like her. I love very character-driven novels, and I didn’t enjoy the main character. So that just makes it a huge nope for me. There was also a lot of drama with Gia and her ‘friends’, Gia and her parents, and with Gia and her brother. It was just a lot going on.

But like I said at the beginning, I will not be giving up on Kasie West!
Let me know what you thought about this book below!


mean girls cant sit with us.gifThanks for Reading!
Instagram: jescamarie493
Goodreads: jessicamarie493

Tumblr: jessicamarie493.tumblr.com3jmarie

3 thoughts on “Mini-Review: The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West

Leave a Reply

