TBR & Wrap-Ups

February 2017 – Reading Wrap-Up

The shortest month of the year is over! Which means the first quarter of the year is almost over! Which means it’s almost the due date to get your taxes done! Lol, sorry, I have a degree in Accounting, caring about taxes is now ingrained in my brain.

But anyways, I read 5 books and 3 novellas this month! Unfortunately, I did DNF one book. I finished one series this month as well! I really wanted to start writing full-length reviews on the books I read this month for this blog. I just haven’t gotten comfortable with it yet, and I also don’t think I’ll be any good at it. But hopefully, in March I’ll write my first one!

Be sure to check out my thoughts on the books I read this month below and then go over to my Monthly Favorites to see what else I loved this month! (February 2017 Favorites)


dream thieves cover.jpgThe Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater (Goodreads) – 5/5 Stars – I think this one is my favorite in the series. It has a focus on Ronan, who is my favorite character in the series. It also focuses on the boys more than the last two books in the series. The boys are why I kept reading this series, so I always wanted to see more of them. This is such a character-driven series, and I love it so much.


lost to you.jpgLost to You by AL Jackson (Goodreads) – 3/5 Stars – This was an okay NA read. I was actually all on board with it and really enjoyed it. It ended really well. Then the book had a sampler for the next in the series, and the guy turned into a huge asshole and changed my whole opinion of him.



blue lily cover.jpg

Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater (Goodreads) – 4/5 Stars – This was a great installment, not my favorite though. It’s hard to rate a series when you feel the same about every book. lol. I did really like how this one ended. The last 80 pages of each book in this series is so gripping and fast-paced. There were a lot of plot lines added with the secondary characters. I liked some of them, and some were unnecessary. That’s just how it goes sometimes.


the-diary-of-lexi-ashford-part-onethe-diary-of-lexi-part-twocareThe Diary of Lexi Ashford Part One and Two by Jessica Sorenson (Goodreads) – Overall 3/5 Stars. – I liked these, even though sometimes it was a little over the top. But it’s supposed to be a quirky, funny novella series. I feel like since we don’t know Evan’s job, but he’s super rich, that it might take a 50 shades turn. But that could also be because that movie is being shoved down everyone’s throats at the moment. I’m surprised that Part Three isn’t out yet. I will say that I am not a fan of novella series, why can’t we just make it a full-length novel at that point? I’m way too picky about these sorts of things. But this was a fun, easy, time-waster kind of read.


viciousVicious by L.J. Shen (Goodreads) – 4/5 Stars – This was one of those “I really shouldn’t like this-This relationship is horrible-This guy is so over-controlling and jealous” but you end up loving it anyways kind of books. The guy is really awful. The girl tries to stand up to him, but fails a lot. She ends up working for him, and it’s totally cliche. In short, I really liked it even though I should not have. Lol.


defy.jpgDefy by L.J. Shen (Goodreads) – 4/5 Stars – This is the novella that says it’s supposed to be before Vicious, but I honestly wouldn’t read it first. That’s just me though. But it’s a great teacher-student, insta-love romance and I did really enjoy it!

 



the raven king cover.jpg

The Raven King by Maggie Steifvater – (Goodreads) – 4/5 Stars – It took me so long to get into this. There were a lot of chapters towards the beginning about characters I didn’t care about. Which meant that it took a lot to get through those chapters so I could read about the Boys and Blue. That’s all I wanted was more Boys and Blue. I hated what happened to Noah and how Henry just took his place. I understood it, but I didn’t like it at all. I did enjoy how everything ended and how things are left open-ended for more books in their world. My favorites for this series go: Dream Thieves, Raven Boys, Raven King, Blue Lily. 


youes-to-bareYours to Bare by Jessica Hawkins – (Goodreads) – DNF – I got to 22% in this on my Kindle. It started off when a really stalker-ish, creepy guy. Then the girl is in a relationship, but he doesn’t stop pursuing her. Then the girl ditches her anti-depressants so that her life will be better or she will feel ‘normal’. I just started on medicine for anxiety and I’m trying to avoid things that tell me that I’m better off without medicine. So I’m just not going to to finish this, it’s not for me. I would recommend reading The First Taste by this author though, I gave it 4/5 stars.


book the middle.gifThanks for Reading!
Instagram: jescamarie493
Goodreads: jessicamarie493

Tumblr: jessicamarie493.tumblr.com4jmarie

3 thoughts on “February 2017 – Reading Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

