Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday – 2/8/17

top-5Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly tag created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey on Youtube) over on Goodreads and now being hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes. Every week book lovers write/talk about their particular Top 5 for a topic and post it on blogs and YouTube. Feel free to check out the Goodreads page and join in!

Today’s Topic: February 1 – Book Trends You’re Tired of

  1. Let’s start off with an easy one. That would be the horrible trend of categorizing New Adult books as YA to get more sold. I hate this. It makes me upset. But it happens. Paper Princess by Erin Watt is a good example (I’ve also seen this one on Amazon under the children/middle grade category. What?!). ACOMAF is a great example. Ugh, it just bothers me.
  2. I also am tired of readers bashing other readers. Comments like “I can’t believe anyone would rate this book 5 stars” or “Anyone who likes this book must be ignorant and stupid”. Anything like that in reviews really annoys me. Keep your comments on the books. There’s no need to bash other readers. There’s not that many readers in the world. We have to stick together. I sound dumb, but does this annoy anyone else?
  3. The “I’ve fallen in love with my step-brother I’ve just met” plot line. I just am not a fan. I’ve read three book series with this as the main theme and I just don’t like it. I guess I have find a different forbidden love to love.
  4. This is not used as often. I also love/hate this, but it’s when a book uses Harry Potter references. I used to love it, but then Carry On by Rainbow Rowell came out. And I’ve since learned that I don’t love it anymore, it kind of annoys me unfortunately. And I LOVE HP, so it’s kind of surprising to me. Just a sentence or so is fun, but anymore than that and I’m out.
  5. Lastly, I’m tired of half naked guys on New Adult books. I’m pretty sure this is why Colleen Hoover has done so well. No half-naked guys. Lol, it also makes me feel like I have to read these books that I really enjoy on my Kindle or else people will judge me so harshly.

–So, those are my slight annoyances that I have with books lately. I don’t think I stuck to the prompt and I also got a little rant-y. My bad!
–Hope you enjoyed, let me know if we share any of the same annoyances in books!

Thanks for Reading!
Instagram: jescamarie493
Tumblr: jessicamarie493.tumblr.com
Goodreads
: jessicamarie493

4jmarie

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – 2/8/17

  1. I HATE HALF NAKED GUYS ON COVERS! But I don’t read romance anyway…
    And I completely agree with the YA/NA prob. See, NA isn’t “popular” by any means compared to the success of YA, so they just call it YA…and that’s BAD. I’m out there trying to find appropriate books for young readers, and though I enjoyed ACOMAF and books like it myself, I am 33. I know about all that and don’t mind it in my books (for the most part…I’m not picking up 50 Shades anytime soon). And the meanness in the reader ratings! Agree too!
    Got a great list here!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks! I’m glad I’m not the only one that feels super annoyed by these things!
    I’m 23, so ACOMAF was great to me. But I still don’t know what age group publishers consider as YA anymore. I kind of think of it as 13 and up, and a 13 year old should definitely not read parts of ACOMAF.

    Like

  3. OMG I’m 100% behind you on the half naked guys on the cover. It puts me off and I really don’t want to miss a good book just because of a stupid cover. I also agree with numero 2, readers need to get their shit together.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

