TBR & Wrap-Ups

Least Favorite Books of 2016

10topofpageMake sure to check out my Top Ten of 2016!
Now on to my personal least favorite books of 2016!
In no particular order:

  1. No One Needs to Know – Amanda Grace – YA contemporary – 1 Star
    This was about a girl that falls for her brother’s girlfriend. Sounds cute and diverse, right? Well, it was, but it was also very horribly written to the point that some of it was unbelievable even in a book setting.
  2. Forever with You – Jennifer L Armentrout – New Adult – 1 Star
    This series should have ended about 3 books ago. This one was just really bad. Spoiler alert, she moves to a new town and ends up getting pregnant and then it miscarries. But the couple still stays together for all the wrong reasons. And it’s just bad and stupid. If you read this series, you should stop with Jase and Teresa’s story. It’s just bad after that.
  3. Shadows – Jennifer L Armentrout – YA Fantasy – 2 stars
    I liked the first few books of the LUX series. But I didn’t like Opposition (I only gave it 2.5 stars) and I really didn’t like this prequel book either. I just found myself not caring towards the end of the series. And that may totally be my fault.
  4. Opposite of Ordinary – Jessica Sorenson – YA Contemporary – 1.5 star
    I love some of Jessica Sorenson’s books. They can be fantastic. This one wasn’t it. I believe that now it’s the first book in a series and now called The Heartbreaker’s Society. It’s the same book but with a different ending, I believe. But the version I read here was very quick and fun, but it was flat and the plot line was left very open ended. The conflict was resolved very quickly and unrealistically. Which I guess is fixed now that there’s a second book in the works. But yeah, the version I read sucked.

  5. Losing It – Cora Carmack – New Adult – 2 Star
    I didn’t like this book in the slightest. I read this back in February, so I don’t remember a whole lot. But I do know that I don’t like the falling in love with your professor trope/cliché. This just unfortunately was the book that made me learn that. I also hate the name Bliss. Is that a actually real name, cause I seriously hate it.
  6. Sincerely, Carter – Whitney G. – New Adult – 2 Star
    This was nothing unique to me. Boy is love with the girl best friend who doesn’t know how great she is. She’s a virgin and great and blah blah blah. I just didn’t like this book and skimmed a lot of it, which I never do.
  7. What We Saw – Aaron Hartzler – YA Contemporary – 2 Star
    The themes in this book are important. It has a big message on rape culture and how people can sweep it under the rug without even noticing they’re doing it. I just didn’t like the writing, and the romance. How everything plays out is realistic and upsetting. It was just sometimes the author pushed his own personal agenda and that didn’t set well with me.
  8. The Edge of Always – JA Redmerski  – New Adult– 2 Stars
    I just felt like this was an unnecessary sequel. I skimmed a lot of it because of the receptiveness, and I usually never skim books at all. I liked the epilogue with the daughter though.
  9. Did I Mention I Miss You? – Estelle Maskame – YA Contemporary – 2 Stars
    I just felt like the story was really drawn out. I also didn’t like how the conflict with her dad was resolved very quickly, it didn’t make sense. I also thought the second book in this trilogy feel really flat also. I think I got caught up in the hype of it, and to be honest I’ve really figured out that I don’t like the “falling in love with your stepbrother” trope/cliché. This just unfortunately was the series that made me realize that.

    –There were a few more books that weren’t my favorite. Those were just the few that I wanted to point out. If you loved these books or series, I apologize but they just weren’t for me at all.
    –Here’s to a whole new year of reading!

Thanks for Reading!
3jmarie

One thought on “Least Favorite Books of 2016

Leave a Reply

