Top 5 Wednesday

T5W – 2017 debuts – 1/11/16

13top5wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly tag created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey on Youtube) over on Goodreads and now being hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes. Every week book lovers write/talk about their particular Top 5 for a topic and post it on blogs and YouTube. Feel free to check out the Goodreads page and join in!

Today’s Topic: January 11 – 2017 Debuts You are Excited For – New Authors in 2017
– I found all of these on a list on Goodreads –Link – So check that out if you want to find more upcoming debuts!

  1. The Hate U Give – Angie Thomas – Black Live Movement/Shooting – I feel like I’ve heard Booksandlala on YouTube talk about multiple times. This book will hopefully expand my little knowledge on this topic.
  2. A List of Cages – Robin Roe – About 3 booktubers that I follow have given this book 5 stars, and all I know is that there are difficult topics involved. The Synopsis is very vague too. But I’m excited.
  3. Sad Perfect – Stephanie Elliot – Eating Disorder/Anxiety/Depression – The girl in this YA Contemporary has Avoidant/Restrictive Food Intake Disorder, which I unfortunately didn’t know was a disorder. So I hope that this expands my knowledge. Plus, on the Goodreads page the author says that her daughter had the disorder, so that’s comforting that it’s not made up or unrealistic.
  4. The Shadows We Know By Heart – Jennifer Park – What I gather from the synopsis is that it’s a sort of magical realism story with Sasquatch? I’m not sure though? A review said it was a Tarzan retelling with Sasquatch? I mean, I’m intrigued.
  5. When Dimple Met Rishi – Sandhya Menon – YA Contemporary/Arranged Marriage/POC – I also heard BooksandLala on YouTube talk about this one. It sounds super interesting and I think it’ll be cute and funny. Early reviews make it sound great too!

Thanks for reading!
3jmarie

Leave a Reply

