Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday – Characters you defend

top 5Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly tag created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey on Youtube) over on Goodreads and now being hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes. Every week book lovers write/talk about their particular Top 5 for a topic and post it on blogs and YouTube. Feel free to check out the Goodreads page and join in!
This week the topic is characters that everyone else hates, that you love and always end up defending. I have some pretty interesting ones.

the heir5. Princess Eadlyn Schreave in The Heir by Kiera Cass
I know a lot of people hate her, and how stuck up she can be. Her attitude is  primarily “I’m the princess, you’re not.” And that’s about it. I actually think that the character development that happens is fantastic and makes sense. Because a princess that’s grown up in a whole where she has everything, really shouldn’t be expected to treat everyone perfectly. Especially when all the drama kicks in. By the end of the book, it’s obvious that she is going to make changes in her attitude and it’s great. The only thing I sincerely hate is the spelling of the kid’s names in this book. Can we no just spell Ahren like Arin? Is that too difficult?

DarkestMindsSeries4. Clancy in The Darkest Minds Series
Yep, the villain that continues to patronize them all during the series. He’s like a weird version of Draco to me. I thought everything that he did to the others was clever. He’s a smart kid, just coming from things at the wrong angle. When they just left him there with no memory at the end of everything, I just kept thinking about how he could be a great person now. Maybe.

 

isla3. Isla from Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins
This whole book gets a bad reputation. A lot of readers really did not like the relationship in this book. They also did not like Isla, and how she could be whiny and mopey and no understanding sometimes. But that’s how highschoolers are. Isla’s book is my favorite of the triology, which is a widely unpopular decision. But I love how unique her story is from the other two, and I just liked it better. I also never “fell in love” with St. Clair, like a lot of other readers did. So maybe that’s my issue?

 

kirk2. This is cheating, but whatever. Kirk from Gilmore Girls.
I just watched a couple of different people’s videos on Gilmore Girls and why you should watch the show. And in almost all of them, they said that they hate Kirk. Not in a “I hate Dan Scott (OTH)” sort of way, but more of a “I hate my little bother” sort of way. I personally think that Kirk (formerly known as Mick) is a staple in Stars Hollow and the show would definitely not be the same without him. I love him, and he better be in the revival.

catcher1.Holden Caulfield in The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger
Didn’t think I was about to go to a classic, did you? We had to read this in senior year in highschool. I heard so many people complaining about how Holden only complains, which was kind of ironic to me. But anyways, I liked him, and I liked the whole overall story. I love when books or music lets you have your own interpretation of things. Because you never really know what’s going on in his head and you have to fill in the spots. I’ve read this book three times, and I love Holden more each read.

And that’s a wrap. What about you guys? Don’t say you’re standing up for Umbridge. Please. Lol. Thanks for reading! -Jessica

Leave a Reply

